Tag Archive for NHTSA

National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act

This year, we recognize 49 years of improved safety in the automotive industry. On June 24, 1966, the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act was enacted. This bill allowed the federal government to administer new safety standards for motor vehicles and eventually led to the creation of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) we know today.

Throughout the early 1960s, the public became increasingly more and more concerned over the skyrocketing number of motor-vehicle related fatalities. With the passage of this law, new safety features were added to cars, including head rests, energy-absorbing steering wheels, seat belts, shatter-resistant windshields, and more.

In addition, roads were improved for superior safety as well. Edge and center line stripes and reflectors were added to help drivers better determine a road’s curves. Breakaway sign and utility poles and guardrails were also added.

A third factor, behavior changes in drivers also improved safety. Drivers were learning about the affects of driving while intoxicated and using safety devices, such as seatbelts.

With all of these changes, the decrease in the number of motor vehicle fatalities was almost immediate.

Improvements in road and vehicle safety continue through today with active safety features that can help prevent accidents. For example, the Blind Spot Information System and Adaptive Cruise Control with Forward Collision Warning are all available in the Ford Fusion.

Stop by Sanderson Ford today and we’ll show you how far safety features have come in the full Ford lineup.

traffic and motor vehicle safety

Ford Focus Electric Earns 5-Star Safety Score

Ford Focus ElectricThese days, fuel efficiency seems to be just as important as safety in the features we looks for in a new car.  Fortunately for new car buyers, balancing the two has just become a whole lot easier. The 2013 Ford Focus Electric has earned a 5-star safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in their New Car Assessment Program.

In order to receive the top rating from the NHTSA, the Focus Electric had to earn a 5-star crash test rating in each of the safety tests performed, including front and side-impact crash tests and rollover resistance.  The EV passed each of the tests thanks to advanced safety features, such as dual-stage front airbags, front-seat side-impact airbags, and safety canopy side-curtain airbags in the first and second rows.

Sanderson Ford is proud to be one of the select dealers to have 2013 Ford Focus Electric inventory, so stop by today to check out this safe and efficient model!

like us on facebook

Contact Us